Kiehl’s Lip Balm #1 Review

Another lip product review! As I have already mentioned in one of my blogs, I had no intention of buying this one, but bought it just for courtesy sake. After trying out Maybelline Baby Lips Candy Wow, a detailed review of which is here, I started trying this Kiehl’s Lip Balm #1 and I am ready to review it.

Price: INR 595 for 15 ml

IMG_0131Product Details:

Temporarily protects and helps soothe dry lips. Helps shield lips from the drying effects of wind and cold weather. Apply liberally, and allow an excess of the balm to be absorbed.

Let’s talk about the packaging first. Not a fan! Not only is the packaging very boring, it also is not very functional. It comes in a white tube packing with a black cap. It is hard to apply from the tube itself, I take a little amount on the finger and then apply it on the lips. At least a stick packaging would have been more convenient.

Now coming to the product itself. I am very confused with what I have received. Firstly, while trying to read it’s manufacturing date, I read it to be 04/2015. Later on I realized that it was actually the importing date, and not the manufacturing date, which happened to be 05/2014!!! Now I expect to get such an old manufactured product while ordering online or another channel, but getting such an old product from the store itself was a bit disappointing. Although it is good till 36 months from the date of manufacturing, still I feel a bit unhappy.

IMG_0130

The product itself is dirty yellow in color with thick consistency, like that of vaseline. When I checked online, because I expected it to be colorless, I found out that I was right!!! I don’t know what to say! The smell was also a little off, like some oil gone rancid.

It took a little courage to try it on my lips. Though the product worked fine and did not cause any reactions or so, I am reluctant to use it again. It made my lips soft, but nothing special that other lip balms are not doing. I am not sure if the product that I have got is some how gone bad or what… I am not going to continue using it. I will bring up the issue with the store when I next visit them.

Totally disappointed!!!

Rating: 2/5 (Only because I think I might have got a product gone wrong)

 

11 thoughts on “Kiehl’s Lip Balm #1 Review

Leave a Reply

