Clinique Moisture Surge Face Spray Review

I am using a lot of Clinique skincare products from the last 3 years or so. I like to try out skincare from other brands every now and then, but I tend to go back to Clinique time and again. I religiously follow their 3-step regimen (though I am planning to skip their face wash for a while now) and I have couple of other products from them as well. Today I am going to review the Clinique Moisture Surge Face Spray.

I got this bottle somewhere in summer of 2014, and have been using it every now and then. The bottle is almost finished and I was not actually planning to review it until one incident happened that made me change my mind. I was not even sure if I wanted to share this small incident with you all, but I now think I do. A little story time…..

I guess all of you might remember how excited I was to get samples from Kiehl’s??? Some time back I decided to give them a try. I decided to use their face wash, toner and much raved about Midnight Recovery Concentrate. I washed my face and toned with the sample provided. So far, so good. And then I applied the Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate on my face. First thing I noticed was that the oil smelled rancid. I checked the expiration date and it was good to go. So I applied it without thinking much. Within 4-5 minutes of applying it, I started to have a burning sensation on my face. I checked in mirror and to my horror, my face was red and small bumps were all over my face!!! I immediately washed my face and popped in an anti-allergic. But there was still a burning sensation on my face, so I went through my stash, picked up this face spray and sprayed it all over my face. With in seconds, my face calmed down, and in a minute or two redness went way down. My skin remained in a pretty bad shape for days, but this facial spray really helped to calm my skin whenever needed. So this is the story…..

IMG_1236

Price: INR 2000 for 125 ml (the prices may have changed now)

Clinique Moisture Surge Spray comes in a pale pink plastic bottle with a spray pump. It is a sturdy packaging, and I always like the quality of their pump sprays, which is way better than the Forest Essentials one.

I bought this product in the summers, for that quick hydration that the dry skin needs at times even in the summer season. Although it was effective in calming my skin, I did not end up using much in summer. This could be probably because at home I preferred applying moisturizer whenever I can, and I found it bulky to travel with in my handbag. But it is a great spray to hydrate dry or itchy skin, especially in summer, as it provides a cooling effect as well.

I have used it over my makeup as setting spray as well, and believe me, it works very well in that area as well. It sets my makeup as well as hydrates at the same time. It is also a great product to apply whenever you feel that your makeup is a drying up your skin after a long wear.

I have used it extensively this winter, because sometimes my skin felt dehydrated even after couple of hours of moisturization. But the best use of this spray has been to calm down itchy and irritated skin. I have used it on my face after sun exposure as well, and it immediately calms down the skin.

The best thing about this face spray is its consistency. Although it is watery in texture, it sticks to your face when sprayed and does not run down the face. I have faced this problem with Forest Essentials toner, which when sprayed, runs all over your face. This in turn sticks to your skin and gets absorbed quickly.

The only con for me is that if sprayed a little too much especially in summer, it may feel sticky. Other than that, it is a perfect facial spray and the latest incident has restored my faith in this wonderful product all over again.

Flawed or Fab?

FAB!!!!

Rating: 4/5

Will I repurchase and recommend Clinique Moisture Surge Face Spray to others????

Yes to both.

Have any of you tried Clinique Moisture Surge Spray??? If yes, please share your personal experiences with me in the comment box.

10 thoughts on “Clinique Moisture Surge Face Spray Review

    • That could be the reason, though the date did not say so. I got in touch with their corporate complaints cell as well and let them know, so that they can instruct the store to avoid giving out the samples from the same batch to other people.

      Like

    • I have used only this spray from this range, but I have definitely heard a lot of good things about the cream as well. I am though happy with the dramatically different moisturizer for the time being. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. Yes, it had been a great product that way. I have never used any Vichy products, but I am planning to try some once I am done with products I am currently using.

      Like

    • Yes, Anubhuti. I contacted the store immediately, and the manager opened another sample from the same batch, and found it to have a weird smell as well. He escalated the matter to the corporate cell, and an associate got in touch with me. Now I must say, although the store manager was eager enough to accept the problem, the associate from the corporate was trying to make it sound like nothing. She might be thinking that I wanted to get something out of all of this. It is only after I assured her that my purpose was only to make sure that no one else got the sample from the same batch, that she started agreeing with me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

